Museum of Plugs and Sockets logo, small Certification Marks
on plugs and sockets
navigation icon navigation icon
info page
navigation icon


Plugs usually have one ore more certification marks. They show that the plug meets the safety standards as specified in the given country/countries. In particular Euro- and Schuko plugs (left) may have many marks when the manufacturer has certified its products throughout Europe. Nowadays certification in one of the countries of the European Union applies to each of the EU states, but national regulations may prevent the use of a specific devices despite being certified in other EU countries.

Some plugs have a CE mark, that suggest certification, but has in fact no significance.
Besides certification marks you may also find the manufacturer's logo on plugs and sockets.


European certification marks

European certification marks, part 1
European certification marks, part 2

1 Germany: VDE = Verband Deutscher Elektrotechniker.
2 Netherlands: KEMA = Keuring van Elektrotechnische Materialen te Arnhem.
3 Belgium: CEBEC, division of SGS Belgium (SGS = Société générale de surveillance).
4 France: product meets standards of NF = Norme Française. Mark issued by AFNOR (l'Association Française de Normalisation).
5 France: USE = l'Union des Syndicats de l'Électricité (certification numbers differ per device). Mark used from 1924 until 1996.
6 Italy: IMQ = Istituto Italiano del Marchio di Qualità
7 Austria: ÖVE = Österreichischer Verband für Elektrotechnik.
8 Denmark: DEMKO mark (Danmarks Elektriske Materielkontrol).
9 Finland: FIMKO mark (marking of SFS = Suomen Standardisoimisliitto).
10 Norway: NEMKO mark (Norges Elektriske Materiellkontroll).
11 Sweden: SEMKO mark (Svenska Elektriska Materielkontrollanstaiten).
12 Switzerland: ESTI mark = Electrosuisse (Schweizerischen Elektrotechnischer Verein, SEV).
13 United Kingdom: Kitemark, owned and operated by the British Standards Institution (BSI).
14 United Kingdom: ASTA mark (independent testing and certification centre).
15 Ireland: NSAI mark = National Standards Institute.
16 Luxemburg: SNCH mark = Société Nationale de Contrôle Technique.
17 Spain: AENOR = Asociación Espagñola de Normalización y Certificación.
18 Portugal: CERTIF mark = Associação para a Certicação.
19 Czech Republic: EZU mark = Elektrotechnický zkušební ústav (Electrotechnical Testing Institute).
20 Slovakia: EVPU mark = Elektrotechnický výskumný ústav a projektový (Electrotechnical Research Company).
21 Poland: B mark = Polskie Centrum Badan I Certyfikacji (Polish Centre for Testing and Certification).
22 Hungary: MEEI mark = Magyar Elektrotechnikai Ellenörzö Intézet (Hungarian Institute for Testing Electrical Equipment).
23 Russia: GOST-R mark = Gosudarstvennyi Standarty Rossiiskoi Federatsii (Federal Agency on Technical Regulating and Metrology).


Selection of non-European certification marks

Non-European certification marks

24 United States of America: UL mark = Underwriters Laboratories Inc.
25 Canada: CSA mark = Canadian Standards Association.
26 Mexico: NOM mark = Normas Officiales Mexicanas - Asociación de Normalización y Certificación.
27 Australia and New Zealand: RCM mark = Regulatory Compliance (trademark owned by Australian and New Zealand regulators).
28 Japan: PSE mark = Product Safety Electric Appliance and Materials.
29 Peoples Republic of China: CCC mark = China Compulsory Certification.
30 Malaysia: MS mark = SIRIM Berhad (Standards and Industrial Research Institute of Malaysia).
31 Israel: SII mark = Standards Institution of Israel.
32 Turkey: TSE mark = Türk Standardlari Enstitüsü (Turkish Standards Institution).
33 South Africa: SABS mark: South African Bureau of Standards.
34 Brazil: INMETRO mark (Brazilian National Institute of Metrology). Either INMETRO, CEPEL or both marks can be found on plugs.
           CEPEL mark (Centro de Pesquisas de Energia Elétrica = Research Centre for Electrical Energy).
35 Uruguay: UNIT mark (Instituto Uruguayo de Normas Técnicas).
36 Argentina: IRAM and S-mark (Instituto Argentino de Normalización y Certificación); an IRAM and/or S- mark can be found on plugs.
37 Chile: SEC mark (Superintendencia de Electricidad y Combustibles = Superintendence of Eletricity and Fuels).
38 India: ISI mark (Indian Standards Institute).
39 Thailand: TISI mark (Thai Industrial Standards Institute).


European Conformity mark
Chinese Export

Chinese Eport mark
note different spacing
between C and E

CE mark (Conformité Européenne / European Conformity).
EU regulations allow company-internal self-certification processes. The results of tests that show that the product meets the relevant requirements on safety, health and environmental issues must be documented. Moreover, the company has to take responsibility for the safety of the product.
This self-certification system applies to many electrical and electronic products, but domestic plugs and sockets are specifically excluded from the scheme (source).
Domestic plugs and sockets are subject to national standards and regulations.

Note that the lookalike Chinese Export mark is not a European Conformity mark !

ENEC mark (European Norms Electrical Certification). Products that have received ENEC approval comply with applicable European safety standards. You may find this mark among others on household appliances, consumer electronics, batteries and portable tools.


D i g i t a l   M u s e u m   o f
navigation icon
P l u g s   a n d   S o c k e t s